Pruning my rose bush

The other day I came home and my 2 little girls were playing in the TV/Family room. I love to come home and play with them after a long day of work. my oldest daughter tells me “mommy I wanna go out” she loves going outside to the backyard, especially now that she has sophia or  pia as she tends to call her (her little sister) I didn’t hesitate much and outside I went with them. As I approach my backyard which by the way I haven’t been out there much this spring/summer I see my rose-bush, now I know that my bush had been infected and it had a lot of bad dead branches. I never pruned the bush in the fall to allow the branches to breathe well and do whatever it is that needs to do during the cold months in NYC. SO anyway I of course turned into a mad woman who grabbed a small scissor and said to myself “let me just cut a few branches off so I can at least make it look pretty. Ha Ha little did I know is that when I got closer to it I realized the entire bush is pretty much done 😦 when I tell you guys DONE I mean I really saw no hope for this bush. I continue to cut bad hollow branches, I ended up cutting 98 percent of it. I was literally heart-broken from not having this pretty bush in the back to bloom roses even if it was a temporary. Here is what I reflected from this, John 15:1-2 tells us that he removes and prunes every branch that produces fruit so that it will produce more fruit. As I was pruning the rose bush that night I realized it was long overdue and that the only way that bush would really be beautiful and strong is if the bad branches were removed. See God allows our lives to be pruned, he removes things from our lives so that we can trust in him and know that he has better things in store for us. I was obviously heart-broken to have cut 98% of it because now there is nothing there but one or 2 branches. However Hebrews 12:11 tells me that “no discipline seems enjoyable at the time, but rather painful. Later on, however, it yields the fruit of peace and righteousness to those who have been trained by it” This tells me that although certain things in our lives are going to be painful God makes something good come out if it. Any difficult situation you may be facing today just know that there isn’t anything God doesn’t turn into something GOOD for you. God works everything out for us to be GOOD, I understand today that the bush has to go through its process of healing. I understand today that everything I have endured in my life is because God saw a bigger purpose for my life. God is still working in my life. Today I’m thankful for this amount of bad branches he is able to remove from my life. I encourage you all today to focus on him and him alone, NOT on the situation or circumstances you  are facing. God has a purpose for your life too. Be blessed and stay tune for many more reflections.

2 thoughts on “Pruning my rose bush

  1. Hey Marcy,

    I really enjoyed this post. It happen to pop up on my emails at such a hard day. I was thinking about some of my friendship and how I miss them and then I was reminded through your rose bush sorry of the work of God. I found myself just crying as I read it because it really ministered to me. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

